1,000 years of history,
one of the oldest
estates in the Médoc

Our history

Château d’Arsac’s history can only be understood through delving into the immemorial history of the Médoc.

The Seigneury of Arsac was one of the oldest in the Médoc, first owned by Guillaume Géraud d’Arsac in the early 12th century. The estate then belonged to Michel de Montaigne’s brother, Thomas de Montaigne, and the following verses by his friend, La Boétie, were reportedly composed during a trip to Arsac:

“Oh Médoc, my isolated and primitive home,
there is nowhere else as pleasant to me.
You are at the end of the world, and I love you all the more for it.”

The estate then belonged to several bourgeois Bordeaux citizens, including Ernest Dubosc, who transformed it around 1880 into the largest winegrowing estate in the Médoc, and potentially in France, with 250 hectares of vines and world-famous, state-of-the-art winemaking facilities.
When it was purchased by Philippe Raoux in April 1986, Château d’Arsac had fallen into ruin: a vineyard reduced to 3 hectares, abandoned cellars and a château that was nothing more than a chicken coop.

Today, Château d’Arsac has not only been restored to its former glory – it also has been partly promoted to the Margaux appellation (54 hectares) and to “Cru Bourgeois Exceptionnel” status.
In 1996, the estate also received a Gold Best Of Award from the Great Wine Capitals Global Network (Art/Culture section) in San Francisco.

Our terroir

From a purely technical perspective, the description of the estate is much simpler than the long-winded tale recounting the history of Château d’Arsac. Fundamentally, a wine estate can be defined by its altitude, sun exposure, type of soil and geographical location. Our plots are planted up to 33 m high, culminating on the Monteil hillside, in the historic heart of the estate.

Total rainfall resembles that recorded in the Margaux appellation, with fewer rainy days and higher daily accumulated rainfall. Stretching over 160 hectares in the Margaux and Haut-Médoc appellations, the estate’s vines are planted on eight different types of soil. Each one is ranked from 1 to 5, according to its winemaking potential. Our higher quality soils, primarily consisting of a layer of deep gravel, are planted with Cabernet Sauvignon (70%), with the other 30% better suited to growing Merlot.

 

Environmental Management System (EMS)

Since the early 2000s, Château d’Arsac has been transitioning towards eco-friendly winemaking and sustainable development. As a result, our estate has now obtained High Environmental Value level 3 certification (the highest standard). Château d’Arsac is also an ISO 14001-certified member of the Environmental Management System association.

The cellars

A vital component of the estate, our cellars are divided into 3 parts :
• the first, known as the blue cellar, home to our vat room, where the wines are fermented
• the second, the barrel cellar, where the wines are aged,
• and lastly, the bottle cellar, where our bottled wines are stored.

Each vat is equipped with a temperature-controlled system.
Both the barrel cellar and bottle cellar are air-conditioned.

The Team

At Château d’Arsac, tasks are divided according to a top-down structure. Our technical director Olivier Bonneau supervises vineyard manager Loïc Le Bozec and cellarmaster Emmanuel Calvez. Together, they ensure technical liaising between both sectors and each manage their own team. Our quality control manager, Amandine Brisson, ensures the estate’s objectives are fulfilled. Finally, three employees are in charge of administration and wine tourism: Céline Moine, Hélène Kondor and Margot Mansuy.

Philippe Raoux
Estate owner

Amandine Brisson
Quality Control Manager

Margot Mansuy
Wine tourism Manager

Hélène Kondor
Managerial assistant

Emmanuel Calvez
Cellar Master

Céline Moine
Accounting manager

Loic Le Bozec
Vineyard Manager

Olivier Bonneau
Technical director

1000 ans d’histoire,
l’un des plus anciens
domaines du Médoc

Notre histoire

L’histoire du château d’Arsac ne se comprend qu’à travers celle immémoriale du Médoc.

La seigneurie d’Arsac est l’une des plus anciennes du Médoc puisque Guillaume Géraud d’Arsac en était propriétaire dès le commencement du 12ème siècle. La propriété a ensuite appartenu à Thomas de Montaigne, le frère de Michel, et on attribue ces vers à La Boétie, son ami, lors d’un séjour passé à Arsac :

“Ô Médoc, pays solitaire et sauvage,
Il n’est point de pays plus plaisant à mes yeux.
Tu es au bout du monde et je t’en aime mieux”

Le Domaine est ensuite passé entre les mains de plusieurs bourgeois bordelais dont Ernest Dubosc qui en fit vers 1880 l’exploitation viticole la plus importante du Médoc, voire de France, avec 250 ha de vignes et des bâtiments d’exploitation de haute volée visités par de nombreux étrangers.
Au moment de son rachat par Philippe Raoux en avril 1986, le château d’Arsac était tombé à l’état de ruines: un vignoble réduit à 3 ha de vignes, des chais à l’abandon et un château faisant office de poulailler.

Aujourd’hui le château d’Arsac a non seulement retrouvé son aspect d’hier mais aussi a été classé pour partie (54 ha) en AOC Margaux puis promu au rang de Cru Bourgeois Exceptionnel.
Egalement il a reçu en 1996 à San Francisco le Best Of d’Or du Réseau international des Grandes Capitales viticoles section Art/Culture.

Notre terroir

Sur un plan purement technique, la description de la propriété apparaît plus simple que le récit long et désordonné de l’histoire du château d’Arsac. Reprenant les fondamentaux, une propriété viticole peut se définir par son altitude, son ensoleillement, la nature de ses sols et sa situation géographique. L’altitude de nos parcelles culmine à 33 m… avec la colline du Monteil, coeur historique de la propriété.

La pluviométrie est proche de l’ensemble de celles de l’appellation Margaux avec moins de jours de pluie et des cumuls journaliers plus importants. Fort de sa superficie de 160 ha en appellation Margaux et Haut-Médoc, le château d’Arsac dispose de 8 types de sol sur lesquels sont plantées nos vignes. A chaque type de sol est associé un potentiel oenologique noté de 1 à 5. Sur nos sols qualifiés de supérieurs et majoritairement constitués d’une couche de grave profonde, nous avons planté du cabernet sauvignon (70%), le reste (30%) étant plus adapté à la culture du merlot.

 

Système de Management Environnemental (SME)

Depuis le début des années 2000, le Château d’Arsac est rentré dans un process de viticulture respectueux de son environnement assorti d’une logique de développement durable. C’est ainsi que désormais notre propriété bénéficie de la norme Haute Valeur Environnementale niveau 3, la plus haute dans sa catégorie. Mais aussi il est membre certifié Iso 14001 de l’association pour le Système de Management Environnemental.

Les chais

Éléments capitaux de la propriété, ils se répartissent en 3 ensembles :
• le premier, le chai bleu dédié à la vinification qui intègre notre cuvier
• le second, le chai à barriques, consacré au vieillissement de nos vins,
• le dernier, le bouteiller, correspondant au stockage de nos vins en bouteilles.

Dans le cuvier, chaque cuve est dotée d’un système de régulation thermique.
Le chai à barriques comme le bouteiller sont climatisés.

L’équipe

Le château d’Arsac est organisé selon une répartition pyramidale des tâches. Notre directeur technique Olivier Bonneau encadre notre chef de culture Loïc Le Bozec et notre maître de chai Emmanuel Calvez. Ils assurent la continuité technique entre les deux secteurs et dirigent chacun leur propre équipe. Notre responsable qualité, Amandine Brisson, définit le cadre technique visant à satisfaire les objectifs de la propriété. Enfin, trois personnes sont dédiées à l’administration du domaine et l’oenotourisme : Céline Moine, Hélène Kondor et Margot Mansuy.

Philippe Raoux
Propriétaire

Amandine Brisson
Responsable Qualité

Margot Mansuy
Chargée en oenotourisme

Hélène Kondor
Assistante de Direction

Emmanuel Calvez
Maître de chai

Céline Moine
Responsable comptable

Loic Le Bozec
Chef de culture

Olivier Bonneau
Directeur Technique